Research Project - DEEP-SEA

Project Description

The protection of the world's oceans and the sustainable use of marine resources can only be guaranteed in the long term through a better understanding of our oceans and marine ecosystems. Seas and oceans play an essential role in food production, but also in energy supply, climate and in the transport of globally traded goods. To ensure a balance between societal development and the long-term protection of our livelihoods, new strategies and technologies are needed to sustainably improve understanding, assessment and management of natural processes.

Innovations in photonics, optical sensors and the advancing digitalization are revolutionizing the way we perceive, understand, and influence our environment. The aim of the project is to demonstrate the benefits of these developments for the environmental and life sciences by combining the competencies of the consortium in the fields of optical sensor development, applied environmental and marine technologies, fisheries research and aquaculture.

With the help of a modular sensor platform to be developed in the project, important parameters such as turbidity, dissolved organic carbon (DOC) and carbon dioxide (CO2) are to be made measurable by optical methods in the environmental analysis of water bodies. Integrated into a sensor system or a network of sensors that can be used on site in water bodies, this approach allows measurements close to real time. Such a system represents a considerable added value for decision-making processes within fishery and environmental applications.

Info Sheet

Forschungsprojekt - DEEP-SEA

Projektbeschreibung

Der Schutz der Weltmeere und die nachhaltige Nutzung der Meeresressourcen kann langfristig nur durch ein besseres Verständnis unserer Ozeane und marinen Ökosysteme gewährleistet werden. Meere und Ozeane spielen eine wesentliche Rolle bei der Nahrungsmittelproduktion, aber auch bei der Energieversorgung, dem Klima und dem Transport global gehandelter Güter. Um ein Gleichgewicht zwischen gesellschaftlicher Entwicklung und dem langfristigen Schutz unserer Lebensgrundlagen zu gewährleisten, sind neue Strategien und Technologien erforderlich, um das Verständnis, die Bewertung und das Management natürlicher Prozesse nachhaltig zu verbessern.

Innovationen in der Photonik, neuartige optischen Sensoren sowie die fortschreitende Digitalisierung revolutionieren die Art und Weise, wie wir unsere Umwelt wahrnehmen, verstehen und beeinflussen. Ziel des Projekts DEEP SEA ist es, den Nutzen dieser Entwicklungen für die Umwelt- und Biowissenschaften aufzuzeigen, indem die Kompetenzen des Konsortiums in den Bereichen der optischen Sensorentwicklung, angewandte Umwelt- und Meerestechnik, Fischereiforschung sowie der Aquakultur kombiniert werden.
Mit Hilfe einer im Projekt zu entwickelnden modularen Sensorplattform sollen wichtige Parameter wie Trübung, gelöster organischer Kohlenstoff (DOC) und Kohlendioxid (CO2) durch optische Verfahren in der Umweltanalyse von Gewässern messbar gemacht werden. Integriert in ein Sensorsystem oder ein Netzwerk von Sensoren, die vor Ort in Gewässern eingesetzt werden können, ermöglicht dieser Ansatz Messungen in Echtzeit. Ein solches System stellt einen erheblichen Mehrwert für Entscheidungsprozesse in Fischerei- und Umweltanwendungen dar.

Info Sheet